Keith Jacobsen Biography

I was born in Liverpool in 1948.  I had a strict Catholic upbringing, which, mixed with the humour of my native city, has proved a rich seam of human interest to explore in my fiction.  I gave up religious practice while at university (St Catherine’s College, Oxford, where I read modern languages) though I retain a strong leaning towards Christianity. 

My musical interests have kept a stronger hold over me.  I have been active as a pianist since early childhood.   Until recently I worked as a private piano teacher, after taking early retirement from the civil service.  I was a civil servant for twenty-seven years, moving up through the ranks of what was then known as the administrative class, taking a special interest in international health relations.  

My retirement from the service also gave me time for writing.  In 2010 I published 'No More Sea', a psychological mystery set in Cornwall, followed by 'Out of the Depths', a Catholic whodunnit set in my native Liverpool.  Subsequently I signed a contract with Thames River Press for a series of novels under the umbrella title of 'the Furies Trilogy', exporing themse of guilt, revenge and the search for redemption.  The first, 'Place of a Skull', set partly in Northern Ireland during  the Troubles, was published in June 2013 and nominated for the 2014 CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger Award.  The second, 'Sisters of Fury', was to have been published in April 2014 but differences with Thames River Press led to the cancellation of the contract in January 2014 by mutual agreement.   'Sisters of Fury' will now be published by Book Guild Ltd and will be available from 26 November 2015.  Next year will see the appearance of a sequel to 'Out of the Depths', 'the Eye of God', featuring the same priest detectives. 

I live in North London with my wife, Valerie, also a senior civil servant.  I have two grown-up daughters by my first marriage.       

Qualifications and membership of professional bodies:

MA (Oxon) Modern Languages
Licentiate of Guildhall School of Music and Drama (Pianoforte Performance)
University of Reading Postgraduate Diploma in Music Teaching in Professional Practice (Distinction)
Incorporated Society of Musicians (Full Member)
Society of Authors (Full Member)

© Copyright 2019 Keith JacobsenWeb Design By Toolkit Websites